Clapham High School wins the 2018 Sanlam KMSC

Posted on October 11th, 2018 |

From left are Dr Danny Jordaan, President of the South African Football Association; Glen Tumelo Baadjies of Clapham High School; Patrice Motsepe, Deputy Chairman of Sanlam; and Frank Louw, Manager: Sanlam Foundation.

Clapham High School clinched the Kay Motsepe Schools’ Cup (KMSC) national title, beating John Ramsey High School from Bishop Lavis, Western Cape, 3-1 in a tense tournament final held at the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) Sports Stadium in Pretoria.

Eighteen teams from SA’s nine provinces participated in the national finals this year, with the nine provincial champions each winning R100 000 and the top four earning additional prize money, bringing the combined total of prize money to R3,4 million.

Runners-up John Ramsey received R700 000 (including the R100 000 won during the provincial finals), third-placed School of Excellence from Gauteng received R500 000, and fourth-placed Sibanesihle Secondary School from KZN received R400 000.

Clapham High School, winners of the 2018 Kay Motsepe Schools’ Cup.

A total of 342 players took part in the national finals, with coaches, managers, referees and technical staff all doing their part to make the tournament a success.

Scouts from the various Premier Soccer League academies came to watch the players during the nine provincial finals and national finals, identifying a number of learners in whom they’re interested. Mamelodi Sundowns will invite about 25 young prospects to a training camp at Chloorkop in December.

‘Being part of the initiative has enabled Sanlam to make a direct impact on the lives of many young people through one of the most popular sports in the world,’ says Frank Louw, Foundation Manager: Socio Economic Development at the Sanlam Foundation. ‘Sanlam’s continued participation in the tournament will open the door to greater things for many more young footballers in South Africa.’

Click here to read about the rules relating to prize money won for provincial and national winners.

Runners-up John Ramsey High School.